The new story


I had posted in my last blog that I write many stories. Well, I have decided to post one of them. The story is: who am I? It is a very good story and I would like to know what people think of it. So please comment 🙂

I just got back from my first day at high school. Well, all I have to say is that it wasn’t what I had expected it to be. My first day wasn’t bad, I just learned a lot more in this day then I have my whole life. As I went into Language Arts class the teacher passed out paper and asked us to write down who we were and then pass it up. We were supposed to describe ourselves so people could understand us better. For one I never really thought about this question a lot. When people asked me who I was all I had to say is, “I am Amber Staton.”

 So, I was just sitting there thinking really hard and didn’t know what to put down. I picked up the pencil and started writing. I am Amber Staton and I am 14 years of age. I play softball and rugby for the school and have a lot of fun.  I am smart, brave, sophisticated, intelligent, kind, trusting, soft-hearted, and…. At that point I stopped thinking. This is not really who I am, it’s who I want to be. I guess I have been answering this question wrong all my life. Then I thought even more. I don’t know who I am at all and I never really have. Instead of writing who I am I decided to write about how I don’t know who I am. This is how my essay went.

 I am Amber Staton and I am 14. The truth is I don’t know who I really am. I know who I want to be but I don’t act in that way. There are many people like myself that doesn’t know who they really are inside. If everyone were to sit and think about this they would find that I am right. It is hard to know who you are when you are still a teenager and still growing. I am going to be more thoughtful of who I want to be and eventually become that person. I want to be trustworthy, kind, intelligent, sophisticated, brave, soft-hearted, loving, caring, and talented. Now the question still stands. Who am I really?

After I had handed the paper in to the teacher she called me up to talk to her. I thought I was going to be in trouble at that moment. My teacher asked me to read my paper out loud so everyone can think about the question more. So I did and at that moment I felt so smart and important I knew the rest of my first day was going to be a breeze. I just needed to answer that one question.

2 thoughts on “The new story

  1. Wow, Kayla, good story! I want to hear more… and I can definately relate to your character. I’ll bring my story to church so you can read it!!

Leave a Reply

